Welsh Rugby Union | Wales and Regions

Welsh Rugby Union | Wales and Regions

The French giants will once again be hot favourites to add to their six titles, the first of which was won at the old National Ground, Cardiff Arms Park, when they beat Cardiff after extra time.

The captain that day was Emile Ntamack, whose son Romain was in the team that triumphed against Leinster Rugby at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium in this year’s final.

Stade Toulousain entered Group 1 as one of four seeds from Level 1 and were joined by three former champions, Exeter Chiefs, Leicester Tigers and Ulster Rugby. Begles-Bordeaux completes Group 1.

2004 runners-up Leinster Rugby will be seeded in Group 2, where they will continue their rivalry with Stade Rochelais. The French club overcame Leinster twice in the 2022 and 2023 finals and the two clubs met three times in last season’s competition.

ASM Clermont Auvergne, west country rivals Bath Rugby and Bristol Bears and Benetton Rugby have also been drawn in Group 2.

English Premier League champions Northampton Saints, who won the EPCR Challenge Cup in Cardiff in 2014 and were runners-up in the Champions Cup at the Principality Stadium in 2011, are favourites in Group 3, where they join two-time champions Munster, who triumphed in the Welsh capital in 2006 and 2008, having been defeated in Cardiff in the 2002 final.

Three-time champions Saracens, who were runners-up at the Principality Stadium in 2014, are also drawn in Group 3 along with Vodacom Bulls, Stade Francais Paris and Castres Olympique.

Group 4 is headed up by recently crowned United Rugby Championship winners Glasgow Warriors. They will have two fellow URC clubs in their group, Hollywoodbets Sharks and DHL Stormers, as well as Harlequins and RC Toulon, who won the second of their 2013-15 hat-trick of titles at the Principality Stadium.

The EPCR finals weekend is returning to Cardiff in 2025, with the EPCR Challenge Cup final taking place on Friday 23 May and the Investec Champions Cup final on Saturday 24 May. Both games will be played under a closed roof, with the Champions Cup final being held in Cardiff for a record eighth time.

All four Welsh regions have taken part in the EPCR Challenge Cup draw. There are three groups of six clubs, with Cardiff Rugby in Group 1, Dragons RFC and Ospreys in Group 2 and Scarlets in Group 3.

Each team will play two home and two away matches in the group stages. The full draw is:
Group 1: Cardiff Rugby, Connacht Rugby, Cheetahs, Perpignan, Lyon, Zebre Parma
Group 2: Montpellier, Section Paloise, Newcastle Falcons, Dragons RFC, Emirates Lions, Ospreys
Group 4: RC Vannes, Black Lion, Aviron Bayonnais, Scarlets, Edinburgh Rugby, Gloucester Rugby

Tickets for both finals are on sale now and selling out fast. To purchase tickets, visit:

Cardiff Finals 2025 | European Professional Club Rugby (